Mafia III’s 1960s Soundtrack Is As Good As You’d Expect

To say that the 1960s were pretty good for music is a bit of an understatement, and with Mafia III set in New Bordeaux, a fictionalised version of 1968 New Orleans, you’d expect it to have a pretty fantastic soundtrack. 2K and Hangar 13 have brought together 100 iconic tracks from the era, not just because they sound good, but because they’ll help to give the city and its various districts and clashing cultures a real grounding in reality. I saw the game in action at Gamescom, and there was a wave of old school cool as Lincoln hopped into a car and the radio flicked on.

The page hasn’t gone live yet on the game’s site, but you’ll be able to check out the 100 tracks here when it does. In the mean time, the list will include:

  • The Rolling Stones: “Paint it, Black,” “Sympathy for the Devil” and more;
  • Creedence Clearwater Revival: “Bad Moon Rising,” “Fortunate Son” and more;
  • Sam and Dave: “Soul Man” and “Hold on, I’m Comin’”;
  • Steppenwolf: “Born To Be Wild” and ”Desperation”;
  • Aretha Franklin: “Respect” and ”Chain of Fools”;
  • Jefferson Airplane: “Somebody To Love” and “White Rabbit”;
  • Sam Cooke: “Wonderful World,” “Bring it on Home to Me” and more;
  • The Temptations: “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg” and ”I Wish It Would Rain”;
  • Cream: “White Room”;
  • Johnny Cash: “Ring Of Fire” and “Folsom Prison Blues (Live)”;
  • The Beach Boys: “Help Me, Rhonda” and “Wouldn’t it be Nice”.

Haden Blackman, studio head and creative director at Hangar 13 said, “The 1960s marked some of the best years for artistic expression. From rhythm and blues to the transformative progression of rock and roll, it is critical for us to represent this era accurately and authentically in Mafia III. This soundtrack immerses players into a golden age of music that includes some of the greatest and most beloved artists and music of all time.”

Beyond that, Jesse Harlin and Jim Bonney are on hand for the game’s original score, with 26 songs part of the original game score that will be made available for purchase digitally in the not too distant future.

For more on the game, which releases on 7th October, keep an eye out for our written preview from Gamescom in the near future.

Source: press release

Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!


  1. Great soundtrack but i already knew there was going to be some CCR… i hea’d it through the grapevine.

  2. Wow that is a great soundtrack there. I’m really looking forward to this game.

  3. As time marches on, the more I am interested in the game.

Comments are now closed for this post.