Civilization VI New Frontier pass will add 8 new civilisations to play as

2K Games has announced a brand new content pass for Civilization VI, and it is called the New Frontier pass. This new pass will add a total of eight new societies to play as, nine new leaders, six game modes, more city states, more resources, new infrastructure, and new districts. This month sees the introduction of the Maya & Gran Colombia pack which brings with it two civilisations and two leaders, along with something called the Apocalypse game mode. In July the Ethiopia pack will be released adding the civilisation, one new leader, and the secret societies game mode. More content will then drop in September, November, January, and March. The first pack will release be released on May 21st. In addition, there will be free updates including new maps, scenarios, and balance changes. The New Frontier pass  will be priced at £32.99 on Xbox One, PS4, Nintendo Switch, Windows PC, Mac and Linux. Mobile content will be released later in the year. Anyone who buys the pass will get Teddy Roosevelt and Catherine De Medici Persona Packs as an additional bonus.

Anton Strenger, lead game designer at Firaxis Games, said
“We’re very excited to be adding even more content to Civilization VI, ensuring long time players and franchise newcomers have something fresh to look forward to in the months to come. By delivering new content on a regularly scheduled basis, we’ll have more opportunities than ever with the New Frontier Pass to connect with our community as we actively develop and deliver content.”
In our original review for Civilization VI, Dave wrote:
Civilization VI is my new favourite addiction that I honestly can’t really fault. Each of the gameplay changes provides a fresh challenge, but they were well worth undertaking once they clicked. It’s packed full of the stuff that made the previous games great, but also has a crisp style that makes things clear enough when the game gets extremely busy. As such, the vanilla version of Civilization VI is so good, expansions aren’t really necessary to improve upon it. Having said that, I’m excited for what’s next.
You can read the full review here.
Source: Press Release
Written by
From the heady days of the Mega Drive up until the modern day gaming has been my main hobby. I'll give almost any game a go.