Xbox Series X Games Showcase to take place on 23rd July

Microsoft have confirmed the date for their Xbox Series X first party games reveal for July.

Set to feature Halo Infinite and plenty more besides, the livestreamed showcase will held on Thursday 23rd July at 5PM UK time (6PM CEST, 12PM EST, 9AM PST).

Halo Infinite is certainly the main attraction – a story teaser for the game was released in June, revealing the Banished to be the enemies of this highly anticipated, long in development shooter – but Microsoft will also be hoping to wow gamers with their slate of upcoming first party games. They certainly need to after the strength of Sony’s PlayStation 5 reveal and the poor aftertaste left from May’s Xbox 20/20 stream – note the absence of Xbox 20/20 branding?

We can almost certainly expect to see more of Microsoft Flight Simulator, Grounded from Obsidian, and maybe another teaser for Hellblade II to show off the raw power of the Xbox Series X, but little else is confirmed beyond that. Instead, we merely have rumour and speculation.

Forza Motorsport 8 from Turn 10 Studios is a likely reveal, while the long rumoured Fable revival at Playground Games would be a fan-pleasing announcement, and there’s The Initiative, which was founded in 2018. With the depth and breadth of Xbox Game Studios after Microsoft’s spree of acquisitions, there’s a lot of games that they could announce if they wanted to, but hopefully they’ll only do so when games are ready to be revealed.

As a reminder, Microsoft’s studios are not developing Xbox Series X exclusive titles for at least the first year of the console’s time on the market. Halo Infinite and anything else that comes out also having versions for the Xbox One, with Smart Delivery meaning you can buy the game once and own optimised versions across Xbox One, Xbox Series X and Windows 10.

The ever-present Geoff Keighley will be hosting a Summer Game Fest pre-show an hour beforehand, with the showcase itself taking place right in the middle of Xbox’s Summer Games Fest, in which over 60 time-limited game demos will be release.

Source: Twitter

Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!