Destiny 2: Beyond Light: How to pre-load and when maintenance begins

UPDATE: The full patch notes have dropped, you can read them here.

Destiny 2 is about to evolve, the biggest change to the game since it launched will begin on November 9th with an extended period of downtime and a completely new version of the game which everyone will have to download.

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

Let’s start with the downtime, remember UTC is now the same as GMT so this actually starts in the small hours of November 10th for those in the UK. [Update: apologies for the mix up over the date]

  • November 9, 3:30 PM PST (2330 UTC): Background maintenance for Update 3.0.0.1 will begin.
  • November 9, 4:00 PM PST (0000 UTC): In preparation for downtime, players will be removed from activities and will be required to download a small update before logging in again.
  • November 9, 6:50 PM PST (0250 UTC): Sign-on for Destiny 2 will be disabled.
  • November 9, 7:00 PM PST (0300 UTC): Destiny 2 will be brought offline for expected maintenance. Players will be removed from activities and won’t be able to log back into Destiny 2 until 9 AM PST on November 10.
  • November 10, 9:00 AM PST (1700 UTC): Destiny 2 Update 3.0.0.1 will be available across all platforms and regions. Players will be able to log back into Destiny 2.
  • November 10 12:00 PM PDT (2000 UTC): Destiny 2 maintenance is expected to conclude.

Now to to preloads, including how much space you will need free on your hard drive. Please note Bungie’s warning, do not delete your existing copy of Destiny 2 to make space for the new version!

BEYOND LIGHT PRE-LOAD
Pre-load for Update 3.0.0.1 will be available prior to the game’s release. Below are pre-load timelines and instructions based on platform:
PlayStation
Beginning on November 8 after 8 PM PST (0400 UTC), users can start pre-downloading Update 3.0.0.1 by:
  • Navigating to Destiny 2
  • Pressing the “Options” button
  • And selecting “Check for Updates”
In an effort to decrease server load, some PlayStation Plus users may be able to pre-download Update 3.0.0.1 starting on November 7 after 8 PM PST (0400 UTC) if they have auto update/download enabled on their PlayStation 4. For instructions on how to setup auto update/download, please click here.
PLEASE NOTE: BUNGIE RECOMMENDS THAT PLAYERS SHOULD NOT DELETE THEIR CURRENT VERSION OF DESTINY 2 ON THEIR PLAYSTATION CONSOLE TO SPEED UP THE PRE-DOWNLOAD PROCESS.
Xbox
Pre-load for Xbox will be available shortly after Destiny 2 is taken offline for expected maintenance at 7 PM PST (0300 UTC) on November 9. For instructions on how to setup auto update, please click here.
PC
Pre-load for PC will be available shortly after Destiny 2 is taken offline for expected maintenance at 7 PM PST (0300 UTC) on November 9. Update 3.0.0.1 should automatically be put in the Steam download queue once it is available to pre-load. For more information on managing Steam downloads and updates, please click here.
STORAGE REQUIREMENTS
Below are the updated storage requirements for Beyond Light:
Platform Destiny 2 Install Size Storage Space Needed for Installation
Xbox Series X|S 65.7 GB 65.7GB
PlayStation 5 70.78 GB 70.78 GB
PlayStation 4 70.78 GB 171.68 GB*
Xbox One 65.7 GB 65.7 GB
PC 69.7 GB** 186.2 GB***

* PlayStation 4: Includes current installed version of Destiny 2 (100.9 GB) + Update 3.0.0.1 pre-load (70.78 GB) = 171.68 GB
** PC: Destiny 2 Install Size may vary based on languages installed, size shown is maximum size possible 
 *** PC: Includes current installed version of Destiny 2 (up to 116.5 GB) + Update 3.0.0.1 pre-load (up to 69.7 GB) = 186.2 GB

Source: Bungie

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
News Editor, very inappropriate, probs fancies your dad.

4 Comments

  1. With that much extra space needed to update the PS4 version, you’re better off ignoring their advice and deleting the existing version. Then install the new, smaller version. You’ll be downloading the same amount of data, but won’t have to shuffle everything about to make room.

    • Well they”ve clearly said that’s a bad idea. So listen to Bungie, not MrYD.

      • It’s just down to timings. You’re actually pre-loading the update on PS4, while Xbox and PC can only “pre-load” the update after the game is down for maintenance, so can handle the update as a standard in-place update.

        So if you’re starved of HDD space, you could theoretically delete D2 before the update, then install it later on the 10th.

      • The update includes the current version and the new version in that 171GB. Plus the extra space you always need to install an update. Deleting and downloading it again should only need 171GB.

        So a 70GB update, needing 170GB+ of space, or a 170GB downloading needing just that space, and 100GB of that should be freed up later on.

        Or just say “Bollocks to it. I’ll delete the whole lot and download just the new 70GB version when I remember and the servers have recovered from the inevitable problems they’ll have when they try and come back online”.

        Also, Destiny 2 is one of those games that suffers from enormous update times. Spends ages copying after it’s downloaded. There might not even be time to download the update and install it before the new version goes live.

        Can we start calling it Destiny 3 now anyway? That’s clearly what it is.

Comments are now closed for this post.