UPDATE: Saints Row reboot teased, reveal at Gamescom 2021

Deep Silver

UPDATE: The image has changed and now features a colourful skill with it’s tongue out.

Saints Row Reboot

Saints Row Reboot

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

It appears Saints Row is getting the reboot treatment. Deep Silver has changed the Saints Row website, Twitter feed, Facebook and other social media accounts to show a wall with the word ‘rebooting’ in graffiti.

Saints Row Reboot

Saints Row Reboot

Geoff Keighley, host of Gamescom Opening Night Live, tweeted a link to the website with the text “We are “Bossing” it with our announcements this year”.

Deep Silver confirmed a new Saints Row game was in development back in 2019 so three years development could indicate we will see the Saints return this Christmas. In 2020 a rumour suggested the game was going to have multiplayer.

Graphically, Saints Row V is said to be similar to Saints Row 3 Remastered, which was shockingly impressive, and the overall tone will be a bit more serious though some of the comic elements will remain. Character customisation is to said to be more in depth as each individual body part will have sliders. Four player co-op is also apparently in with difficulty scaling depending on how many players there are. There is also, allegedly, online multiplayer consisting of 32 players in a gang warfare scenario to take over territory.

It was also suggested that Saints Row V players would be facing off against the Saints, superpowers would be removed, and the events of Saints Row IV and Gat Out of Hell would be retconned to be TV shows within the Saints Row universe. The rumour was denied by Alex Q. Ryan, Deep Silver/Koch Media Senior PR Manager, but if we are getting a reboot then there may be some truth in that old rumour.

The last time was saw the Saints was in the impressive Saints Row: The Third Remastered, but the two previous games, Agents of Mayhem and Gat Out of Hell, were not great. You can read the reviews of those games here and here.  There’s also a Saints Row movie in production, maybe the rebooted game has something to do with that?

Gamescomm live launches on Wednesday 25th August at 11 am PT / 2 pm ET / 7 pm BST / 8 pm CEST.

Source: Twitter

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
News Editor, very inappropriate, probs fancies your dad.