Nintendo Switch Sports online test sign ups are now live

Switch Sports Header

Nintendo has opened the sign ups for this weekend’s Nintendo Switch Sports online play test. This preview opportunity of the Wii Sports revival is a stress test for Nintendo’s online servers, with several play windows open across 19th-20th February, and it’s open to anyone with a Nintendo Switch Online subscription to play.

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

You can sign up using the following links for US and European players:

The play test includes three of the six sports that will be included in the full game when it releases on 29th April. For now, you’ll be able to play Bowling, Tennis and Chambara, bringing back some Wii sports favourites, and with the test including matchmaking against random players. However, you will not be able to team up and play against friends until the full game is out.

There will be five sessions in total, each one lasting 45 minutes:

Saturday 19 February

  • 03:00 – 03:45 (UK time) / 04:00 – 04:45 (CET)
  • 11:00 – 11:45 (UK time) / 12:00 – 12:45 (CET)
  • 19:00 – 19:45 (UK time) / 20:00 – 20:45 (CET)

Sunday 20 February

  • 03:00 – 03:45 (UK time) / 04:00 – 04:45 (CET)
  • 11:00 – 11:45 (UK time) / 12:00 – 12:45 (CET)

The game bundles together six video game adaptations of real world sports, all using Joy-Con waggle controls, like it’s 2007 all over again. The games are Tennis, Bowling and Chambara returning from the Wii original, but that’s joined by new sports Football, Badminton and Volleyball. Football is a particularly interesting one, as Nintendo will bundle in a leg-strap accessory with physical copies of the game – the same as is found with Ring Fit – to let you attach a Joy-Con to your leg and us this to track kicking in a bespoke football mini-game called Shoot Out Mode.

A seventh sport, Golf, will be added to the collection in a free update in the autumn.

The game will include local multiplayer, such as for Volleyball where you can serve and spike together. There will also be online multiplayer with skill-based matchmaking.

Source: Nintendo

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!