Blizzcon – Overwatch 2, Diablo 4, and World of Warcraft announcements inbound

This year’s Blizzcon is shaping up to be one of the more memorable annual gatherings following a series of leaks and Blizzard’s ongoing kerfuffle with Hong Kong protesters.

Blizzcon 2019 will open its doors to fans tomorrow with a packed streaming schedule of tournaments, panels, and other community focused broadcasts. Naturally, all eyes will be fixed on the big opening ceremony which Blizzard will be streaming. This is where the major announcements are being made so make sure you tune in – here are the scheduled times:

  • 6PM GMT
  • 2PM EDT
  • 11AM PDT
  • 7PM CET

So what can we expect to see at this year’s show? Up top we have Overwatch 2 which was first leaked via demo guide instructions obtained by ESPN. This suggests that there will be a playable build of Blizzard’s new co-op PvE mode, an expansion to the core multiplayer game that has been rumoured for some time. This was followed by leaked artwork via the official Blizzard gear store. Aside from the appearance of Echo (presumably the next upcoming hero) there’s nothing that screams Overwatch 2 here apart from the image URL which reads “ow2-fine-art-gallery.png”. Oops.

Meanwhile, Diablo 4 is also likely to make its grand debut. The dungeon crawling sequel was allegedly due to appear during Blizzcon 2018 but was pulled last minute. A recent advert in German gaming mag, GameStar, specifically mentions Diablo 4 in an advert for an upcoming art book for the series. Insider sources have also been relaying details such as a grittier tone and an overall shift back towards Diablo II. Speaking of Diablo II, the classic Blizzard RPG could also be due for a remaster.

We’ll also get our first glimpse of what’s next for World of Wacraft. A new expansion titled “Shadowlands” was also leaked via the Blizzard gear store with a logo image having also surface via WoW’s Public Test Realm (PTR).

Hearthstone and Heroes of the Storm will likely have updates too. Beyond that, we wouldn’t expect Blizzard to announce anything new.

Blizzcon 2018 offered a strong lineup of announcements for die hard fans of the developer’s games including a Warcraft III remaster, a release date for World of Warcraft classic and updates for Overwatch, Hearthstone, and Heroes of the Storm.

The only big surprises were a noticeable lack of Diablo 4 news and the reveal of Diablo: Immortal, a mobile spin-off that really didn’t go down well among Blizzcon attendees.

Written by
Senior Editor bursting with lukewarm takes and useless gaming trivia. May as well surgically attach my DualShock at this point.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up