Rocket League’s Anniversary Event Starts July 9th, No Plans For Sequel

Rocket League is about to celebrate it’s third anniversary with a new event that will run from July 9th to July 23rd with a 3v3 Anniversary Playlist added to the Casual Playlists page and the Throwback Stadium which replicates one of the pitches found in the original Supersonic Acrobatic Rocket-Powered Battle-Cars game, Rocket League’s predecessor.

Here’s a little more from the blog post:

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

We’re changing up how you earn Customization Items during the Anniversary Event as well. There will be no Event Crates this time around, with all of the new items available by redeeming SARPBC 10th Anniversary-themed ‘Balloons,’ which are earned by playing matches online. Check out screenshots of some of the items below!

Along with new items up for grabs, you’ll also be able to redeem Balloons for a new type of Anniversary surprise! These ‘Golden Eggs’ do not require a Key or Decryptor to unlock, so just crack up to ten of ‘em open to find one of over 60 possible Customization Items from our retired Champions Series Crates.

  • Anniversary Event Start Time: Monday, July 9, 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 7pm CEST)

  • Anniversary Event End Time: Monday, July 23, 5pm PDT (8pm EDT, 2am CEST on July 24)

  • Anniversary Event ‘Balloons’ Expire: Monday, July 23, 5pm PDT (8pm EDT, 2am CEST on July 24)

    • The Anniversary Event ‘Balloons’ expire as soon as the Event concludes. There is no one-week redemption grace period.

Meanwhile, game director Scott Rudi has told Gamespot that there are no plans for a sequel any time soon and that they would prefer to continue to add content to the existing game.

“That’s preferable to do; games-as-a-service,” commented Scott. “The most valuable thing in our game is our fans. A lot of the stuff we do is focused on keeping them with us. Keeping them interested and all hyped up about our game. We want to provide a really good experience [for players] to have fun with for years to come.”

“We want to keep this going. I don’t know what I’d do with Rocket League 2. I’d rather do more to expand the exisiting Rocket League. It’s doing great, there is a lot ahead of it. So yeah, we have no plans for Rocket League 2.”

Source: Rocket League / Gamespot

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
News Editor, very inappropriate, probs fancies your dad.