Destiny 2 will be down for 12 hours tomorrow to prepare for cross-save

Destiny’s servers will be down for maintenance for a whopping twelve hours tomorrow, Thursday 27th June, as Bungie perform some foundational work for the cross-save functionality coming to the game with the start of Year 3 this autumn.

Maintenance will start at 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 4PM CEST, taking down both Destiny 1 and 2 and even forcing them to disable Bungie.net and Destiny Companion APIs for the web, mobile and third-party apps. It should then be back online at 7 PM PDT / 10 PM EDT / 3 AM BST (Friday) / 4 AM CEST (Friday).

7:00 AM PDT 1400 UTC
  • Destiny 1 and 2 will be brought offline for maintenance.
  • This is to prepare for Cross Save in Destiny 2 later this fall.
  • Maintenance is expected to conclude at 7 PM PDT (0200 UTC).
  • Bungie.net and Destiny Companion features will be unavailable on Web, Mobile and Third-Party apps.
7:00 PM PDT 0200 UTC
  • Destiny 1 and 2 maintenance is expected to conclude.
  • Bungie.net and Destiny Companion features will be re-enables on Web, Mobile and Third-Party apps.
  • Players who encounter issues should report them to the #Help forum.

The extent of the downtime shows just how big a task this is for Bungie to pull off, but all things going to plan, the game should be back online twelve hours later. Later this year, with the launch of Shadowkeep and the start of Year 3 for Destiny 2, you will no longer be locked to a particular system and can transfer your progress between PS4, Xbox One, PC and the soon to be launched Google Stadia. This won’t enable full cross-play – each platform will have its own matchmaking pool – but if you have the game on multiple systems, you’ll be able to jump back and forth with a set of cross-save characters.

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep was announced in the run up to E3 this year, taking players back to the Moon, a popular destination from the first game, to tackle a new emerging threat to mankind. It will launch alongside a new foundational version of Destiny 2, dubbed New Light, which will be free to play and include all parts of the game that appeared in Year One, including co-op, competitive and endgame modes.

Source: Bungie

Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Sign Up