A State of Play has been announced for tomorrow, Wednesday March 9th

State of play
State of play

There have been rumblings that Sony were going to hold a State of Play this week with some ‘tipsters’ on the internet claiming that it was happening but had then been cancelled. They now have egg on their faces as indeed there will be a State of Play on Wednesday March 9th at 2 PM Pacific / 5 PM Eastern / 10PM GMT / 11 PM CET. Yes, that’s 10PM at night for those of us in the UK.

Update: Fixed the times.

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

“The show is clocking in around 20 minutes, give or take, with a special focus on highlighting great games coming from some of our beloved Japanese publishers, though we’ll have a few updates from other developers located around the world, too,” say Sony.

“We won’t have any updates on PlayStation VR2 titles or hardware in this broadcast,” they also note. We are expecting a full PSVR 2 reveal very soon though.

You can watch the State of Play broadcast live on Twitch and YouTube.

So what games can we expect from this new broadcast? Well as it focuses on Japanese studios the most obvious game to mention is the next Final Fantasy from Square Enix. Final Fantasy XVI was revealed back in September 2020 as a PlayStation exclusive but we only saw a CGI trailer. In December 2020 director Naoki Yoshida said the game had been delayed due to Covid-19 but there would be a reveal in Spring 2022, so this could be it.

Here’s part of his statement:

When last we spoke, I promised I would have more information on Final Fantasy XVI sometime later in 2021. However, I regret to inform you that I will be unable to keep that promise as complications stemming from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic have delayed the game’s development by almost half a year.

So that leaves us with the question, when can we expect the next round of information? Well, I am happy to announce the current plan is to conduct our next big reveal in spring of 2022 as we seek to build excitement leading up to the game’s eventual release.

Final Fantasy XVI was our tenth Most Wanted Game of 2022, you can read more about that here.

Source: PS Blog

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
News Editor, very inappropriate, probs fancies your dad.

2 Comments

  1. Hey Tuffcub, maybe you’re writing this from central Europe, but 2pm PT/5pm ET/11pm CET is 10pm for those of us in the UK & Ireland

    • Tuff is mentally already on holiday…

Comments are now closed for this post.