Sony Knocks GameSharing Down To ‘3’

Some developers don’t like the practice of gamesharing – one person buying a game and then loaning his account details to four friends so they can download the game for free – and now it appears that Sony are getting a bit fed up with it too.  Despite Jack Tretton pushing the idea as a positive one – “you can send that content to four other friends for that initial investment, we want to get the game in as many hands as possible,” he famously said at the PS3’s launch – it now appears that the limit has been dropped from 5 to 3.

The terms of service that appear to have changed (link to the Australian site here) state that “you may use [your purchased] item or content on up to three (3) different PlayStation®3 systems that have been activated for your account. You may deactivate or activate specific PlayStation®3 systems, as long as the maximum activated number of PlayStation®3 systems for your account at any given time is three (3).”

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

The TOS then goes on to say that there are “two sets of usage schemes for content, corresponding to two categories of in-game items and other content that you purchase.”  The first category, called Network Content, can only be accessed “by one activated PlayStation®3 system per day and only by the account through which the Network Content was purchased. Network Content cannot be used on two different PlayStation®3 systems within a twenty-four (24) hour period.”

This effectively ends gamesharing on multiple user accounts – you have to use the account the game was purchased under.  The second category, and the one which seems the most restricted, is Local Content, “once installed on a PlayStation®3 system by the account that purchased it, can be accessed by other accounts on that same PlayStation®3 system.”

Via GAF.

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –