QuakeCon Starting Tonight

QuakeCon is upon us, as thousands of gamers lug their computers to Dallas, Texas to take part in the gigantic annual LAN party. Of course, it’s now more than a celebration of Quake and online fragging, since id Software were bought ZeniMax Media a few years back, and so it now also serves as a place for that publisher to show off some of their upcoming wares.

All the tournament gaming action is going to be streamed at Twitch.tv/QuakeCon, for those of you who like to watch gamers gaming, but there’s also a bunch of stage presentations being streamed at Twitch.tv/Bethesda.

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

As is traditional John Carmack opens the show, tonight at 10:30PM BST (4:30 CDT), ahead of two fairly busy days, as follows:

Friday, 2nd August

  • The Evil Within – 5PM BST (11AM CDT)
  • The Elder Scrolls Online – 6:30PM BST (12:30 PM CDT)
  • Wolfenstein: The New Order – 8PM BST (2PM CDT)
  • GameTrailers’ Bonus Round w/ Geoff Keighley – 9:30PM BST (3:30PM CDT)
  • Principles of Lighting & Rendering w/ John Carmack – 11PM BST (5PM CDT)

Saturday, 3rd August

  • Dishonored: The Brigmore Witches – 5PM BST (11AM CDT)
  • PC Perspective Hardware Workshop – 6:30PM BST (12:30PM CDT)
  • From Sketchbook to the Big Screen w/ Hugo Martin, about his work on Pacific Rim – 9PM BST (3PM CDT)

Of particular note for gamers are the three big gameplay presentations tomorrow, of The Evil Within, The Elder Scrolls Online and Wolfenstein: The New Order, whilst the final presentation on Saturday should be a great look behind the scenes of the gigantic monster brawl-fest that is Pacific Rim.

We’ll let you know if there’s any big news, too.

Via Press Release.

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –