Borderlands 3 is free to play this weekend, but PS4 players need Plus to take part

Gearbox has started a free weekend for Borderlands 3 across all platforms, which includes PS4, Xbox One, PC via Steam, and Stadia. You can access the game on any of these platforms for no extra cost. Well, except on PS4 where the free to play weekend is limited to PS Plus subscribers. If you do not have Plus then you are not getting that chance to play. To access the free weekend players will need to find the Standard edition of Borderlands 3 on the platform of choice, and download that. You cannot access the free content through the deluxe editions.

The times for when the free play weekend will take place is divided by platform below.

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

XBOX ONE FREE PLAY

Starts: August 6, 12:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM ET / 8:00 AM BST / 3:00 PM UTC+8 / 5:00 PM AEDT
Ends:
 August 9, 11:59 PM PT / August 10, 2:59 AM ET / 7:59 AM BST / 2:59 PM UTC+8 / 4:59 PM AEDT

PLAYSTATION®4 FREE PLAY (PLAYSTATION®PLUS REQUIRED)

Starts: August 6, 9:00 AM PT (SIE America) / 5:00 PM BST (SIE Europe)
Ends:
 August 9, 9:00 AM PT (SIE America) / 5:00 PM BST (SIE Europe)

STEAM FREE PLAY

Starts: August 6, 8:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM ET / 4:00 PM BST / 11:00 PM UTC+8 / August 7, 1:00 AM AEDT
Ends:
 August 12, 10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM BST / August 13, 1:00 AM UTC+8 / 3:00 AM AEDT

STADIA FREE PLAY

Starts: August 6, 9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM BST / August 7, 12:00 AM UTC+8 / 2:00 AM AEDT
Ends:
 August 10, 9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM BST / August 11, 12:00 AM UTC+8 / 2:00 AM AEDT

In our review for Borderlands 3, Jason wrote:

I’ve got very mixed feelings about Borderlands 3. Overall I like it and it’s fun to play, but it could have been so much more and the writing feels like time traveling back to your high school days and being surprised and a little disappointed at how immature everyone is. Few things in life are as embarrassing as the person you were five years ago. If you’re not embarrassed, then I’m sorry to say that you may well be the Borderlands 3 of your friend group; stuck in the past unable to grow or change in any meaningful way, relying on fart jokes as a stand-in for your personality.
You can read the full review here. 
Source: Gearbox
– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
From the heady days of the Mega Drive up until the modern day gaming has been my main hobby. I'll give almost any game a go.