Destiny 2 Update 3.3.0 which is out today, 24th August, brings new anti-cheat security known as BattlEye. “We want to be clear that this is not a silver bullet fix that will end all cheating in Destiny forever,” say Bungie, “This is another step in our strategy to combat cheats and improve our detection and banning methods. ”
During launch automatics bans will be disabled, Bungie wish to test the system within the live game to “ensure accuracy”, but once they are happy automatic bans will be in place. This will occur before Trials of Osiris goes live on September 10th. For more information you can visit the BattlEye FAQ here: BattlEye –» FAQ.
They also say ” you may see some reduction in frames and performance after Update 3.3.0 goes live” which is a bit concerning, and the game will take longer to load.
Win Trading will also be targeted.
Bungie defines win trading as intentionally granting other players wins in PvP activities.; Tthis includes but is not limited to manipulating matchmaking by any means to force-match with specific opponents or coordinating with opponents to provide uncontested victories. We are now targeting players for bans who are actively engaging in win trading. Our ultimate goal is protecting the competitive environment of PVP by removing the ability to bypass the effort that players put in to earn rewards. Play fair, keep it clean.
Bungie are also going to war against those who offer to get players weapons and rewards in exchange for cash. There are many sites where you can pay a skilled player to run Trials flawlessly or finish some other hard activity, but from now on that may get your account banned.
Account recoveries are when a player gives someone else access to their platform account and control of their Destiny characters. This not only puts your account security at risk, but it can also have adverse effects on other players’ experiences in competitive matchmade activities. Starting this Season, participating as a buyer or seller of account recovery services could result in a ban on your account. While we will only be placing bans or restrictions for certain circumstances, we strongly recommend that you never give your account login information to anyone else.Not recommended, but won’t get you banned:
- Sometimes I let my kid grind Lost Sectors.
- I asked my cousin’s friend to recover my account to check Xur because I was stuck at a wedding in a remote area with no internet access.
- My roommates and I all share an account on the common room’s console.
- I let my friend borrow my account to try out a weapon roll.What could get you banned or restricted:
- Charging others to recover their account for boosting, earning items, completing content, etc.
- Recovering accounts in exchange for anything of value including but not limited to Patreon supporters, subscribers, follows, gift cards, etc.
- Paying someone to recover your account to be boosted, have items earned, etc.
- Boosting recoveries done for free can also result in bans or restrictions.What could happen if I pay someone to recover my account?
- Temporary or permanent bans may be applied to your account if you are using paid recovery services.
- You are responsible for the security of your account and bans will be applied if someone else is detected cheating on your account or your account benefits from being in a fireteam with other cheaters.
- Bungie will not recover any lost items or progression if you or the person/service you share your login information with deletes anything.This is not a comprehensive list of all circumstances that could result in bans or restrictions and Bungie reserves the right to action accounts at our discretion.
Bungie have also revealed The Witch Queen along with lots more information about changes to the game, check them out here.