Warhammer games showcase will include Space Marine 2, Darktide and more

warhammer games showcase space marine 2

New Warhammer games news is coming next week with the return of the Warhammer Skulls online showcase on Wednesday, June 1, 2022.

This is the sixth annual event of its kind, kicking off with a live broadcast followed by a week of discounts and free updates spread across an ever-growing catalogue of Warhammer games.

– ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW –

warhammer games showcase space marine 2

Available to watch via Twitch, the Warhammer Skulls livestream will take place at 6PM BST / 7PM CET / 1PM EST / 10AM PST on June 1st. A number of games have already been confirmed, including Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine 2, Warhammer 40,000: Darktide, and Warhammer: Vermintide 2. We’ll also get the scoop on the latest Total War: Warhammer III and Battlesector news.

Are there any particular highlights we’re looking forward to? Space Marine 2 definitely stands out as the favourite, even if THQ’s original game left a lot to be desired. Now in the hands of Saber Interactive, there’s hope that the developers will nail the 40K setting and the power fantasy that comes from mowing down the Emperor’s enemies with a bolter in one hand and a chainsword in the other. We’re hoping to see some gameplay footage, as well as any multiplayer details.

Darktide is pretty much on par in terms of hype level: a gritty, co-op shooter that has squads working together as they plumb the depths of a Chaos-infested hive city. It’s the newest game from Fatshark, developers of the brilliant Warhammer: Vermintide series. Speaking of which, Vermintide 2 may sound like a strange inclusion for the Warhammer Skulls showcase. Despite being an older game, it’s still being supported with new updates and content, including premium career paths for its five heroes. We’re expecting to see the last of these careers make its debut during the livestream, giving Sienna players a look at her new powers.

Of course, we’re hoping for new game reveals, too. With Games Workshop getting ready to re-launch its Horus Heresy miniatures range, this is one series in need of more video game adaptations.

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine 2 Overview

The sequel that almost no-one was expecting. The original Space Marine launched more than a decade ago and, while it did a tidy job of bringing 40K’s grimdark universe to life, it was a pretty by-the-numbers action game and one of THQ’s very last before the publisher went bust.

With Saber Interactive at the helm and a renewed popularity in the Games Workshop license, Space Marine 2 could very well blow its predecessor out of the water. It looks like we’ll be joined by an older, even more grizzled Titus as he clashes against swarms of Tyranids to deliver the Emperor’s justice.

Source: Press Release

– PAGE CONTINUES BELOW –
Written by
Senior Editor bursting with lukewarm takes and useless gaming trivia. May as well surgically attach my DualSense at this point.