The Last of Us Episode 5 will air on Friday, two days earlier than usual

Photograph: HBO

HBO and Sky have announced that The Last of Us Episode 5 will be airing on Friday night (Saturday morning in the UK), two days earlier than the usual Sunday night slot.

Episode five will air on Friday 10th February at 9pm EST/6 pm PST in the US, and on Saturday 11th February at 2AM GMT in the UK. The series will then return to its regular scheduled date and time slot the following week.

If you’re wary of spoilers, make sure to bring your viewing session forward as well to avoid the internet ruining things for you.

Why the change? Well, it’s possible that HBO is looking to avoid clashing with the NFL’s Super Bowl, which takes place on Sunday. Though that will kick off two and a half hours before The Last of Us’ typical time slot, the game will last a good 3:30 to 4 hours once you factor in the halftime show. When the Super Bowl reliably draws around 95-100 million US TV viewers and is generally used as a lead in by networks, it’s wise not to put much programming up against it.

The Last of Us has been a massive hit for HBO so far, so it’s no surprise that they want to try and protect that. If you want to see what all the fuss is about, then HBO and Sky have both uploaded the first episode of the show to YouTube – you can watch it free here.

They also confirmed that Season 2 will be made, doing so before the third episode of Season 1 was broadcast in the United States.

Meanwhile, in the realm of video games, Sony pushed back the PC release of The Last of Us Part I by a few weeks, so that it will now release after the HBO run has finished. I’m sure a few more weeks won’t hurt…

Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!

1 Comment

  1. awesome, more to watch then! ;)

Comments are now closed for this post.