XI
you are not logged in
News

Dead Nation Patch: Do Not Update

Warning from Housemarque

It appears that the patch for Dead Nation that went live last night has a few problems. The following has been posted by Housemarque on the Dead Nation Facebook page:

We are investigating a possible save game problem which occurs after patch v1.06 which was released last night. We have received reports that in some cases the patch resets the campaign progress. In the meantime please do not update if you are worried about losing your campaign progress.

This might be a problem if you have PS+ as by the time you get home Dead Nation may have patched itself.

Source: Facebook

Read more: #
20 Comments
  1. MegaBonez
    Member
    Since: Jul 2009

    I already updated! >:-( It resets campaign, but you still have the levels unlocked. So you have to do them one at a time, with no cutscenes!

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 12:41.
  2. Starman
    Member
    Since: Jul 2011

    One day they might test these patches before releasing them

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 12:41.
    • shields_t
      Member
      Since: Oct 2008

      Doubt it.

      Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:55.
      • Foxhound_Solid
        Is a smart cookie.
        Since: Dec 2009

        Doubt it ha….too true…

        Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 14:41.
    • Jakster123x
      Member
      Since: Aug 2011

      I’m afraid that’s not an option.

      Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 16:07.
  3. 3shirts
    Member
    Since: Aug 2008

    Presumably this is only a problem if you play it after the update so if Plus has updated it, we can wait for a fix?

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 12:46.
    • Youles
      Member
      Since: Feb 2011

      Yeah, I wish there was more info. I assume that if we don’t load up the game, it won’t do anything to harm our data? And how can the Game Data affect our Save Data, surely what levels are unlocked and our stats etc are all in the Save Data?!?

      Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:45.
  4. Bodachi
    Member
    Since: Jan 2010

    Glad I haven’t played it in a while so PS+ didn’t update it.

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 12:47.
    • TSBonyman
      Member
      Since: Dec 2009

      Same here, and i’m not going to touch it again until the patch get’s patched as i would be a bit upset at losing my saved game.

      Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 12:55.
  5. justboy
    Member
    Since: Jul 2010

    Thanks for the warning, I was going to play this tonight!

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:05.
  6. Smallville2106
    Member
    Since: Feb 2011

    Glad I turned on Laptop. Was going to fire this up for half an hour. I’ll wait not. Wish they would just test patches etc properly.

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:18.
  7. Youles
    Member
    Since: Feb 2011

    Question..a friend and I are on level 8 on private online co-op, on Grim setting. Typically, PS+ auto-update hasn’t been working however I did the system update yesterday that was supposed to fix it, so I bet it’s bloody downloaded the patch now. Is our progress saved in the Save File? I mean, if I don’t return to Dead Nation until this problem is patched, I should be able to re-start from level 8 with my pal, right? Alternatively I have a copy of my Save File on the Cloud, so could I just download this again after the fix? I’ll be pissed if we lose it as it’s been a ballache with all the random disconnecting and trying to find times where we can play together.

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:20.
    • Youles
      Member
      Since: Feb 2011

      I mean, why would your progress be saved in the Game Data??

      Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:21.
    • job
      Member
      Since: Jun 2010

      im in a similar position. but yes im thinking and hoping the same as you.

      Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:44.
      • Youles
        Member
        Since: Feb 2011

        As well as level progress, I’d be annoyed if it wiped my zombie kill-count, I’m working towards the 53K and have about 42K.

        I might try deleting the game and game data, load it up, retore my file from the Save Cloud and see what stats and progress are in tact. That way I’ll know what is stored in the Save File. I can only imagine it’ll be a problem if you load up or play the game. Fingers crossed anyway

        Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 13:49.
      • Youles
        Member
        Since: Feb 2011

        We could be screwed if our progress (particularly online progress) is saved on the servers, and for some reason the update wipes this. I would not be able to avoid this unless my PS+ auto-update is still broken.

        Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 14:01.
  8. jediryan123
    Member
    Since: Nov 2008

    epic fail

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 14:51.
  9. bacon_nuts
    Member
    Since: Mar 2011

    Palm, meet face.

    Comment posted on 21/09/2011 at 17:31.
  10. Scotty34
    Member
    Since: Apr 2011

    Noted

    Comment posted on 22/09/2011 at 00:07.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Comments