Shadow Warrior 3 announced for 2021 – gameplay reveal during the Devolver Direct this Saturday

Flying Wild Hogs and Devolver Digital have announced that Shadow Warrior 3 is lining up for release in 2021 with a slickly produced teaser trailer ahead of a full gameplay reveal this weekend.

Shadow Warrior 3 will be revealed in full at the Devolver Direct stream this weekend on Saturday 11th July at 8PM UK time (9PM CEST, 12PM PST, 3PM EST).

The blurb from the teaser trailer reads:

Shadow Warrior 3 launches the offbeat first-person shooter series to the next level with a seamless blend of fast-paced gunplay, razor-sharp melee combat, and a spectacular free-running movement system.

Fallen corporate shogun Lo Wang and his former employer turned nemesis turned sidekick Orochi Zilla embark on an improbable mission to recapture an ancient dragon they unwillingly unleashed from its eternal prison. Armed with a punishing mix of blades and bullets, Lo Wang must traverse uncharted parts of the world to track down the dark beast and push the apocolypse back yet again. All it will take is the mask of a dead god, a dragon’s egg, a touch of magic, and enough firepower to tear down the encroaching Shadowlands.

The teaser shows of the series’ sense of humour, poking fun at the teaser trailer process and the role of Flying Wild Hogs and Devolver Digital. There’s a good look at some forearms, a nice bit of wall-running, a grappling hook and some mythological enemies, as well as the gory means with which you’ll get to fight them. Well some of them, because we’ll actually get to see it in action at the gameplay reveal.

Having revived the classic shooter series in 2013, Flying Wild Hogs took their sequel in new and interesting directions, with the integration of new “looter shooter” style gameplay mechanics and co-op. It will be fascinating to see if Shadow Warrior 3 stick to those multiplayer guns, or if they return to a more traditional linear shooter form.

There’s certainly some hints that they’ll be taking a step back, as Game Director Kuba Opoń said, “We hope that Shadow Warrior 3 will feel like a homecoming for those fans that have been with us since the beginning.”

Jim handled our Shadow Warrior 2 review for its 2017 console release, writing:

“Flying Wild Hog has gone well beyond churning out a simple sequel to its rebooted series. Shadow Warrior 2 stands on its own as a frenzied yet fresh blending of genres that can easily enthral groups of players for hours at a time. For lone wolves, the looting and shooting will be slightly less appealing. This, and a few smaller hitches, hold the game back from greatness, though die-hard fans of the genre will certainly get their fill.”

We’ll know more on Saturday, I guess.

Source: press release

Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!