Vampire Survivors wins Best Game at the 2023 BAFTAs

Vampire Survivors Header

Coming out ahead of AAA juggernauts like God of War: Ragnarök, Horizon Forbidden West and Elden Ring, the breakout indie sensation Vampire Survivors picked up the Best Game award at the 2023 BAFTA Games Awards.

Vampire Survivors also won the award for Game Design, but it was a surprise for the Best Game award considering that God of War: Ragnarök picked up six wins out of its fifteen nominations – two of these for Christopher Judge as Performer in a Leading Role and Laya Deleon Hayes as Performer in a Supporting Role. God of War: Ragnarök was also the winner of the public vote in the EE Game of the Year award.

Elsewhere, Elden Ring snagged Original Property and Multiplayer awards, and foxy adventure Tunic was also a two-time winner for Artistic Achievement and Debut Game. Roll7’s Rollerdrome went down as British Game for this year.

Alongside these, Sony’s Shuhei Yoshida picked up this year’s BAFTA Fellowship, recognising his contribution to video games over his decades in the industry.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Animation – God of War Ragnarök
  • Evolving Game – Final Fantasy XIV Online
  • Original Property – Elden Ring
  • Audio Achievement – God of War Ragnarök
  • Game Design – Vampire Survivors
  • British Game – Rollerdrome
  • Artistic Achievement – Tunic
  • Multiplayer – Elden Ring
  • Narrative – Immortality
  • Performer in a Supporting Role – Laya Deleon Hayes as Angrboda in God of War Ragnarök
  • Music – God of War Ragnarök
  • EE Game of the Year – God of War Ragnarök
  • Technical Achievement – Horizon Forbidden West
  • Family – Kirby and the Forgotten Land
  • Debut Game – Tunic
  • Game Beyond Entertainment – Endling: Extinction is Forever
  • Performer in a Leading Role – Christopher Judge as Kratos in God of War Ragnarök
  • Best Game – Vampire Survivors
Written by
I'm probably wearing toe shoes, and there's nothing you can do to stop me!